top of page

It's Hard to Be a Jew

First of all, who committed this crime against Jewry?

I found this on a blog called "Always Order Dessert." How can it be so right about some things, but so so wrong about others?!

I'm guessing a naughty Christian child, trying to put years of accumulated charcoal from Santa to good use, came up with this. Or is it coal that Santa gives? I'm Jewish, and very well-behaved, so I don't know these things...

Or maybe it was a Jew with leftover Sukkah roofing and a full yard waste recycling bin? I wouldn't put something like this past us, frankly.

Either way, I've been busy here in the Midd Hillel kitchen saving challah's good name.

Burnt wood shavings aren't your favorite challah filling?! How about chocolate chip cookie dough?

Continuing on with the American comfort food spin on Jewish comfort foods, I made falafel burgers for dinner. Find this week's recipes here.

The buns were more like 50% bun 50% biscuit. I was a bit concerned as they were coming together, but wound up really liking them and if anyone ever actually makes any of the recipes I post, I would recommend recreating them!

What I've learned while searching for Israeli recipes is that it's all just chickpeas, cucumbers, and obscene amounts of oil combined in various ratios. Funny, given that all good Jews start worrying about cholesterol as soon as they receive their first set of tefillin. But I guess that's where the cucumbers come in.

 

One final calamity impacting the Jewish community to report on before I sign out. This crew is about to graduate.

I mean, what are you going to do without us?

And what am I going to do without you?!?! Seniors, I do have a couple of ideas about how to keep in touch. I'm going to donate $1 to the gift fund every Friday because tzedakah. And because they'll have to write me a thank-you note. Every week. I also got next years' co-presidents to promise they'll bring Hillel to visit me in Boston. But don't try that one. Hillel can only go on so many trips, and they're mine.

Zei gezunt,

Lauren

bottom of page