top of page

January 19, 2018: I Would Not Eat Green Eggs and Ham, it isn't Kosher Jew-I-Am!

Who says Dr. Seuss is the only one who can rhyme?

I hope you enjoy this creation of mine.

Some weeks at Hillel we decide to mix up our minyan

By extending an invite to those from a different religious dominion.

With the help of a grant and a vision in Avi Schaefer’s honor,

We hosted an interfaith Avi Shabbat to make our Midd community stronger.

I say the royal “we,” but should clear up the record.

This event was planned by Fatmata and a NJB from Hillel board.

So a big thanks to our Ben—is that Dohan or Freedman?

I’ll give you a hint: His name rhymes with “treason.”

While I don’t mean to imply that this Ben is a traitor,

Of our God’s holy directives he is an evader.

It’s ordained that it must be Chinese when Jews eat Asian cuisine.

While Yuletide has passed, we still dine on chow mein.

Our Ten Commandments must have something to say about loyalty,

So indulging in Vietnamese or the like is a breach of propriety.

Yes dinner was delicious from the one and only Sabai.

But I hate to break it to you all that that restaurant is Thai.

So as you sat down to eat, said your Baruch atah Adonais,

I hope you threw in a few ay-yai-yai-yai-yais.

 

But at least we have wonderful Jenny, glowing almost as brightly as her challah,

For which we thanked Adonai, Mother Earth, Jesus, Dionysus, and Allah.

Here is a pic of the loaf, already nibbled.

With mango and coconut this exotic delicacy is riddled.

Please subscribe to this blog if a happy Lauren you want to make,

Or if you're simply intrigued by the wacky challah we bake.

And with that I will leave you, young women and men.

To good food and good friends, let us say “amen.”

bottom of page