top of page

Lots of Chametz


Since Passover is coming to an end I thought I'd pop in to remind you of all the delicious and chametz-full food you've eaten this semester at Hillel, and will be able to enjoy again soon!

February 16:

For this week's recipes, click here.

In addition to the standard plain loaf, the challah of the week was pizza flavored. I also made a mini loaf with dried cherries as a reparation payment to Rae. Basically, at dinner earlier that week, Jonah said something funny, I got one less mouthful of grape-nuts than I was planning on, and Rae, who was sitting across for me, wound up with a polka-dotted shirt. Writing it out, I'm realizing the situation was actually all Jonah's fault, though.

I paid $175 to get my chakras in good working order (and get P.E. credit!) over J-term, so it better be paying off in improved challah quality. I'm mainly just excited that I have a secret admirer, though.

 

Dinner was chili, roasted vegetable and goat cheese kale salad, and cornbread:

Since Shabbat was just two days after one of the holiest Jewish holidays, Valentine's Day (think: "Do you love me?......Do I whaaaat?!"), I had to get in on the festivities. The best part about this cake was that you had to make separate cakes to cut the hearts from, so there were lots of scraps, and 90% of what I ate that day was cake.

 

March 2:

For this week's menu, click here. We hosted 17 students from Dartmouth Hillel for the weekend, so of course I had to show them what they're missing out on by making two challah classics: cheesy garlic and marzipan.

Dinner was enchiladas with guacamole and Southwest sweet potato salad.

Dessert was the world's largest skillet cookie served with ice cream.

Preparing well for our futures as Jewish mothers.

 

March 9:

This week was interfaith Shabbat, so goyim of all ilks swarmed the FIC. Whether they came for the Sabai and sushi or for the excellent Jewish company remains an open question. But we're definitely not above luring people to events with food. In fact, that's basically my board position.

We're kind of the happening place on campus Friday nights.

I made babka challah while rocking the most stylish apron you have ever seen:

I wasn't the only one with high-fashion cooking gear. We also got this NJB apron, which quickly attracted a crowd of Hillel NJBs who all tried it on. From what I could overhear of their conversation, they decided that yes, they do really like the apron, but no, you shouldn't need an apron telling the world you're an NJB if you're actually the real thing.

I even got into the Passover spirit early and made these very special extra-flat chocolate chip cookies.

If you want the recipe, just call my mom and ask her to recite

her chocolate chip cookie recipe from memory. They were a tad difficult to scrape off of the baking sheets, so I didn't bake the last batch, but people did eat the entire batch raw within 20 minutes after I set it on the counter.

Come to services at 5:30 and dinner at 6:30 tonight! Dinner is kosher for Passover and will be followed by a short chocolate seder!!!!

xoxo,

Lauren

bottom of page